Leave a comment

Fierce Bitches Don’t Whine About Birthdays ! OR Gifts That Keep On Giving

On the 1st Day of May, I turned 48. I had been getting myself used to that fact by saying it in my head for the past few months.. “ I’m 48”. Getting older doesn’t really bother me and I’ve never lied about my age to anyone ( much to my Mother’s dismay). I have always felt that it’s an honor to be blessed with another year and I always love to celebrate my Birthday with friends and family.

I look at pictures of myself now and I see the changes. My baby face in my teens and twenties, my thinner, more mature face as I got to my 30’s and started to have a family but now I see the years start to creep up a bit more and in not so pleasant ways. For one, I hate having “Big Face” .You know- that thing that happens to women my age, your face is just LARGER. We see it on women we know and even some celebrities- it’s like our faces suddenly puff up like a blow fish or have been inflated with a bicycle pump.  I can handle the chronological part- the accepting the actual number but the physical changes are not so easy to wrap a head around, are they ?.

To put it simply- Perimenopause SUCKS. Yes- I’m saying it and I’m talking about it. I don’t hear much about it and in fact, before I started going through it, I don’t think I’d actually even heard of the term. The period BEFORE Menopause- ya…like we need a forward-a prologue if you will, to the actual “event”..”The Change”. Dude !…I have Hot Flashes to look forward to BUT first, I get to go through this crap ???

If you aren’t acquainted yet with the bounty of physical and emotional changes, here’s a list- per my experience -within the last 2 years or so (BUT please…. Buckle–Up!.. this is not for the Faint of Heart).

The aforementioned Big Face !

Emotional swings:  similar to PMS but without the regularity of PMS. It happens all the time, at any time and it can range from VERY high to VERY low.

Your weight will be next to impossible to manage. Working out consistently and religiously ( and I do !) will yield minimal results. Even for those of us that know how to really work out and I mean HARD-you will not see results for the same amount of effort that you gave in your 30’s. Exercise or not, there are days you are just extremely bloated for no apparent reason at all.

Your body will make quite clear that lots of foods that were part of your normal diet will no longer be tolerated.  You may have scrambled eggs for breakfast like normal and suddenly realize that every time you do, your stomach is incredibly bloated and you spend the morning on the toilet. I stopped being able to eat dairy/sugar combinations like ice cream and cheese cake in my later 30’s and even then, I was told it was “probably hormones”.  Now believe me- I LOOOOVE those things but being doubled over with stomach cramps for 3 days after eating them was NOT worth it. Now it seems there are several items that make me more than mildly uncomfortable.

Bleeding in the week prior to when your period is actually due. OK girls….buckle –up cuz this part is particularly inconvenient and cruel. I am one of those girls that has always been like clockwork and I am talking from teenage years , right on through to now. I calculate every month and give myself a 4-day window and it ALWAYS comes within that window. . Problem is…even though it still comes when it’s supposed to, I was waking up to what looked like my period several days prior to my due dates. That sent me scrambling for tampons and thinking “that’s weird- it’s 5 days early!”. By the mid-afternoon, it would be gone.  It was inconvenient and beyond annoying. I finally figured it out and even though I realized it was Nature’s little Perimenopause practical joke, it still pissed me off !

 

The Fierce Solution:

I can only speak for myself …I am NOT a Doctor and have not conducted interviews on the subject. From what I read for myself, it became clear that wildly fluctuating hormones were primarily to blame. I also read some articles about food allergies. As I said before, I had already become acquainted with having to cut out certain things and in order to get relief, I was more than willing to look into gluten-free and sugar control diets. I found that there are Doctors out that there that can help with hormone balancing. I have been seeing a Chiropractor in my area that is also into Homeopathic solutions and after taking several blood and saliva tests, we embarked on a course of treatment. After a few months and with the use of several different supplements, I am thrilled to report that my hormone levels have balanced and I have seen a reduction in all those challenging symptoms. I was totally unwilling to go on drugs or hormone replacement. The side effects from those seemed much worse that what I was going through and frankly- I just don’t like taking drugs. I have to be really suffering to even want to pop an Advil. I hate feeling altered in any way- I just wanna feel like good old ME.  The supplements and some stress relieving tips he gave me, plus amping up my workouts have made things much better. I am in no means “cured” or completely symptom free but there is a BIG difference and for that, I am beyond grateful. I also really watch what I eat now, have cut out my 1 Coke per day habit, use Organic Blue Agave Sweetener on my oatmeal every morning and cut out eggs and cheese. DAMN !  the price we pay! I LOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOVE CHEEEEEEEEEZ !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

 

Here is my advice: If you are my age and are suffering from all or even some of the above. Make it a point to get as much information as you can and make a checklist of your own symptoms. Check out some Practitioners in your area that treat hormone balancing and try to find someone that treats the “whole person” – NOT just what’s wrong.  Look at your diet and decide what’s more important…indulging in stuff you know you shouldn’t eat or feeling good- it should be a No-Brainer.  Be kind to yourself and realize that your body is doing what it’s supposed to do. You may be a Fierce Bitch but the ultimate Fierce Bitch is Mother Nature !

 

Hope it helped to talk about it ,

Erica

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

