Leave a comment

Fashion: Bordeaux is NOT wine at my house !

Autumn is my favorite time of the year for fashion. I do love the others and if you are like me, when it’s time for the seasons to change I am all about moving on. There is just something special about Fall fashion and this year- it’s clear that we have many beautiful colors to choose from. Rich jewel tones are featured for everything and my favorite is the sexy, rich hue of Bordeaux. Not wine (which is too purple), not burgundy (which is too red) and not rust (which is too orange). If you could “feel” a color- Bordeaux would feel like expensive suede or thick, plush velvet….ahhhhhhhh.

Today I was walking around for a bit at the mall, I didn’t really have reason to go but I was at the Post Office across the street so you know I couldn’t resist.  I had no plans to buy anything- just check out the options. I stroll into our newly renovated, 2-story Forever 21. It’s always fun and with stores like this you know how it is-sometimes everything looks good and sometimes there’s just nothing that grabs you. I was about to leave but then I decided to go over to the shoe department and there they were. The most perfectly shaped, high-heeled, pointy-toed (the ONLY kind I like) pumps in the perfect shade of lipstick Bordeaux. I was in workout clothes and when you have to take off shoes AND socks to try something on- it had better be GOOD !. Only one pair in my size- $19.99.  I’m thinking it’s too good to be true….they won’t fit…BUT THEY DID. Gorgeous, sexy, faux suede but due to the fabulous color, they did not look cheap at all. SCORE ! My day is made!!  Don’t you just love unexpected fab finds ?!

I have seen a few other items in Bordeaux that I loved for this season:

A peplum top at H&M: http://www.hm.com/us/product/03717?article=03717-E#shopOrigin=QL

A really pretty lace top at Zara: http://www.zara.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/product/us/en/zara-us-W2012/269186/888538/GUIPURE%2BTOP%2BWITH%2BOPENING%2BAT%2BBACK

A fabulous Blazer with a flared back at Nordstrom: http://shop.nordstrom.com/S/gibson-equestrian-blazer/3341186?origin=category&contextualcategoryid=0&fashionColor=DEEP+CRIMSON&resultback=4297

The possibilities are endless really.Bordeaux goes with pretty much every color you can think of – hunter green, winter white, any shade of gray or blue and it even works with metallic gold or silver. Lipstick in this color is sexy and very now .Bordeaux also compliments virtually any hair color and complexion- BONUS!

Go take a look yourself and see what you think. I bet you agree with me that it’s the coolest, most versatile color choice this season.

Hope you score too !

Erica

Leave a Reply

