Leave a comment

Fashion: Retail Therapy: Why does it ALWAYS work ??

Image

I was dealing with some emotionally draining family crap this week. You know how that is- sucks ! So I was coping with it one day by wandering listlessly through Loehman’s- one of those places that can sometimes be a virtual treasure chest of great stuff. I found a nice watch- ALL of my watches (cheap but stylish since my very expensive ones were stolen a few years ago) had stopped working- so I grabbed it. Ann Klein tank watch- originally $95- marked down to $39.99 with an additional 30% off- ends up being $27 SCORE !!!  Fog is lifted, mood is sunny, some happiness returns …if only for a brief while. Retail Therapy- why does it ALWAYS work !

Now when I use that term, I do not mean to imply that shopping solves the deep issues or transforms your life miraculously and all in your world is suddenly perfect. It’s not the same as Shopping Addiction- where people go out of control and spend freakish amounts of money on crap they will never use and don’t need or even like, just to BUY. Remember that scene in the movie “Clueless” when Cher is in a funk and says ” I felt impotent and out of control. Which I really, really hate. I had to find sanctuary in a place where I could gather my thoughts and regain my strength….”  and then you see that she’s in the mall. EXACTLY !

Retail Therapy, at least to me, is acquiring an item that you do want, need or love at a great price, just when you need proof that The Universe is working in your favor. The little things count ! It’s like going to Target…it just makes us happy. You can be in a shitty mood and 30 minutes in Target can turn your whole attitude right again. Target is fun and it doesn’t matter what you are there to buy- it’s infectious. I don’t care if you are in there for a bottle of Advil or a light bulb, you walk out of there with something cool and you feel GOOD. Oh ya….AND they have hot pretzels and popcorn !

Times are tough, people are feeling hopeless and for many,simple things like cheap watches can suddenly be considered a luxury. Whatever your outlook, I recommend taking a walk around your Happy Shopping Place (come on…you know you have one!) and disconnect from your black cloud. Find something great and within your budget and say “YES!”. Don’t waste your time on guilt or justifications- you deserve it.

The silly photo above is of the new watch and was taken while sitting in my car AND you gotta LOVE People Stylewatch!

The photo below is this weeks Fierce Find Under Fifty:

Peplum Top- H&M -$17.99

Gray Jeans-Forever 21- $10.50

Bordeaux Suede Pumps-Forever 21- $19.99

The whole outfit comes in just under $50, Comfy and casual yet can be dressed up with a blazer and a statement necklace.
Image
Hope you all have a lovely week,
Erica

Leave a Reply

